The Selfish Giant

The Selfish Giant is our brand new Winter show…

Illustration by Tomasin Cuthbert

Inspired by the touching children’s story ‘The Selfish Giant’ by Oscar Wilde, Tessa Bide productions and Soup Soup Theatre are combining forces to explore an unusual friendship, and how even the grumpiest giant’s heart can melt when Spring finally comes…

Grinter is a giant. She lives happily alone in her huge cold house, surrounded by her huge snowy gardens, enclosed by her high, frost-covered walls. She shuts out the world, because long ago, the world shut her out, and so she hides, safe and quiet in her peaceful, icy home. Outside the towering walls of her enormous garden, the world has been changing and there is very little green left. One day, the children – tired of playing on hard roads and grey rooftops – find a chink in the giant’s wall and climb through, changing the course of the children’s and Grinter’s lives forever.

The Selfish Giant will be a two-hander, told using powerful storytelling, captivating puppetry, beautiful design, enchanting music and a sprinkling of audience interaction magic. An innovative light and sound design will transport the audience into a rich and evocative world where giants are your neighbours and the voices of the wind and snow whisper at your keyhole and call down your chimney at night.

The project will be undergo an R&D period in the summer of 2018, where we will explore the use of circus and puppetry in a 2 week devising period. Alongside this we will build prototypes of the puppets and create the set design ready to be built before we go into rehearsal in the Autumn. We will be supported by our partner organisations May Park Primary School in Bristol, and Shapwick SEN school in Somerset, as well as the Theatre we will be performing at over the festive season… keep eyes and ears peeled for more details as they are announced!

Creative Team

Director/Dramaturg: Adam Fuller

Composer: Matt Huxley

Movement Director: Laura Street

Circus Director: Gwen Hales

Co-Producer/Devisor/Performer: Tessa Bide

Co-Producer/Designer/Devisor/Performer: Tomasin Cuthbert

Dates

We’re performing work-in-progress showings of the show at:

The Marine Theatre, Lyme Regis
Friday 6th July – Time TBC

The Young Vic, London – We Are Family Festival 
Saturday 7th July – 1pm (followed by a puppet-making workshop at 3pm)

The full show will then be touring to the following venues. They’re not yet on sale, but here’s a sneak peak…

Omnibus Theatre, Clapham, London
November 26th – December 24th

The Little Angel, Angel, London
Wed 6 Feb – Sun 10 Feb 2019

Exeter Phoenix
Sun 17th Feb 2019

King George’s Hall & Darwen Library Theatre
Mon 18th Feb 2019

The Met, Bury
Tues 19th Feb 2019

Pocklington Arts Centre
Wed 20th Feb 2019

Rheged Centre, Penrith
Fri 22nd Feb 2019

The Miners’, Ammanford
Tues 26th Feb 2019

Pontardawe Arts Centre
Wed 27th Feb 2019

Helmsley Arts Centre
Fri 1st March 2019

The Montgomery, Sheffield
Sat 2nd March 2019

The Old Fire Station, Carlisle
Sun 3rd March 2019

Artsdepot, North Finchley, London
Sun 31st March 2019

Haverhill Arts Centre
Wed 17th April 2019

Hertford Theatre
Thurs 18th April 2019

We’re adding more all the time so sign up to the mailing list to be the first to find out.

« Back to current shows