Perfect

A young boy waits for the birth of his baby sister… He can’t wait to tell her all about the swifts which nest not far from the top window of their pointy house… it’s nearly time, she’s nearly here.

‘Perfect’ is an innovative adaptation of the beautiful illustrated book by Nicola Davies and Cathy Fisher, about a young boy meeting his disabled sister for the first time. Perfect is a remarkable story of anticipation and disappointment, acceptance and love, and the power of nature in all our lives. It will feature stunning animations inspired by the book’s illustrations, two talented performers, puppetry and an original soundscore composed by Matt Huxley (the composer for all of our shows).  Read more about the book here. 

Teaser Video

Creative Team

Devised ​by the ​company
Original ​story ​by: ​Nicola ​Davies ​& ​Cathy ​Fisher
Performers: Tessa ​Bide ​& ​Eline Hallem
R&D Performer: Stephanie De Whalley
Director/Dramaturg: Adam ​Fuller
Movement ​Director: Laura ​Street
Designer: Luned ​Gwawr ​Evans
Composer: Matt ​Huxley
Lighting and Projection ​Designer: Joe ​Stathers
Animations: Karolina Bielskyte, David Rock and Laura Miranda Moreno with input from Sabrina Marengo.
Assistant ​Producer: Claire ​Crawford
R&D Design ​Assistant: Marta ​Smyk | R&D Production Assistant: Alice Palmer

 

Dates

Lyric Hammersmith
Saturday 14th April: 11am & 1pm

Theatr Brycheiniog
Saturday 5th May: 2:30pm

Malvern Cube
Sunday 6th May: 2pm

Omnibus Theatre, Clapham
Sunday 20th May: 11am & 2pm
Monday 21st May: 10.30am *School’s Performance

The Wardrobe Theatre, Bristol
Thursday 31st May – 3rd June: 11am & 2pm

Blackwood Miners’ Institute
Sat 9th June: 11am & 2pm

The Courtyard, Hereford
Saturday 16th June: 11am

Bridport Arts Centre
Saturday 30th June: 2pm

Waterside Arts Centre, Sale
Saturday 28th July: 11:30am & 2:30pm

Hartlepool Town Hall Theatre
Sunday 29th July: 2.30pm

Bridgend Library, with Awen Cultural Trust
Friday 24th August: 2pm

Further dates still to be added – please keep checking this page for more information!

Gallery

This is a series of photos from our Research and Development performance of Perfect at Hamilton House, Bristol, along with illustrations by Cathy Fisher from the book.

Information for Bookers

Our downloadable venue pack is here. 

For booking enquiries, please contact the team on admin@tessabide.com.

« Back to current shows